Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification Update

04/26/2023 Written by: Jim Stevenson

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC), a unified standard for implementing cybersecurity across the defense industrial base (DIB) sector, including government contractors and suppliers, has been a requirement for years. Despite the requirement, enforcement of CMMC has been weak. There are many reasons for this; however, the Department of Defense (DOD) is rapidly making changes to ensure enforcement.

The need for cybersecurity is growing throughout the federal government across all agencies and government contractors. To address this need, the CMMC framework consists of five maturity levels, each building upon the previous one. CMMC certification is required for any organization that wishes to bid on DOD contracts that handle sensitive government information.

As evidence of a move to improve enforcement efforts across all sectors, the White House is expected to issue an implementation plan for a new national cyber strategy in early summer 2023. In the coming weeks, officials will seek public comment on how to coordinate a growing patchwork of cybersecurity regulations.

The Biden administration’s recently issued national cyber strategy calls for establishing minimum cybersecurity requirements for critical infrastructure sectors. The document is a departure from historical approaches to critical infrastructure cybersecurity that have relied on voluntary security standards and programs.

If you’re doing business with the DOD, directly or indirectly, review this article from the AssuredPartners Government Contractor Solutions team.

When working for the federal government, it’s essential that you understand the cybersecurity requirements and have adequate cyber liability coverage. The AssuredPartners Government Contractor Solutions team is there to help you craft that solution.

Maximize Your Competitive Advantage by Leveraging Service Contract Act Employee Benefits and Fringe Rates
Government Contracting07/12/2024

Providing Service Contract Act (SCA) employees with benefits can reduce costs for contractors on bids and increase their competitiveness against peers, all while offering employees valued benefits....

DOL Raises Overtime Eligible Salary Level
Government Contracting06/13/2024

Effective July 1, 2024, the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) increased the Fair Labor Standards Act's (FLSA) annual salary-level threshold for white-collar exemptions from overtime requirements from...

Minimum Wage Increase for Federal Government Contractors
Government Contracting05/24/2024

In April 2021, President Biden issued Executive Order 14026, a significant policy change that increased the minimum wage for employees of federal government contractors to $15. This increase is not a...